Favourites · Life · Spring

March Favourites

I swear I start every ‘time of the year’ post of with this but:

OMG! How is it already the end of March? That means it’s basically a month until my exams and I’m not ready!!


It’s been a while since I did a favourites post, and so I thought I’d sum up my recent favourites for you today. I can’t say they’re particularly adventurous, as my life at the minute isn’t varying much from school, school, school and rowing! Anyway, enough of my rambling and let get on with the blog!
Book: The One Memory of Flora Banks by Emily Barr.


Can I have a round of applause? I’ve finished my 2nd book of the year! Yes, I know I said I’d have read 70 by the end of 2017 but it hasn’t quite gone to plan. I somehow greatly misinterpreted the amount of free time I’d have this year. However, I did finally pick up another book and I really enjoyed it!

For those of you who don’t know, ‘The One Memory of Flora Banks’ is about a girl with amnesia which means she can still remember life before amnesia but only very recent events. The book is basically how she survives like this (and somehow, I’ve managed to make it sound very uninteresting! It’s great, I swear!!) For a full and detailed explanation, click HERE. The weird thing about reading a book which has a character with amnesia, is that it slowly convinced me that I also had amnesia. I don’t think that it was the author’s aim but still, it really freaked me out and I got in a bit of a panic about how I was going to do my exams with basically no memory! Yes, I was a bit sleep deprived at this point but I enjoyed it so much, I couldn’t put it down and therefore stayed up all night reading it. I 100% recommend and it has catapulted itself into my top 5 books ever.

Song: Scars to your Beautiful by Alessia Cara.


This isn’t a very recent song and not a new discovery for me but for some reason I’ve found it particularly poignant and resonant recently. I don’t get tired of constantly listening to it unlike other songs (e.g Castle on a hill. I almost can’t stand that song anymore, sorry!) although the original is definitely the best compared to any of the remixes. I’ve been loving Alessia Cara in general recently especially ‘How far I’ll go’ because Disney/Moana!

Film: Beauty and the Beast.

Talking of Disney films, I finally got to see Beauty and the Beast. I managed to sneak (and by sneak I mean, I bought a ticket and walked to the right screen!)  into the 16:30 3D screening of it after school on the day it came out. I cannot tell you how excited I’ve been for this film. Every music lesson since Christmas or before I have spent watching trailers and other sneak peaks of the film. I’m not even joking which probably why I haven’t finished my coursework and the deadline’s TODAY!!! Anyway, the trailer and songs have brought me to tears multiple times during my lesson just because of how sweet each song is and how excited for the film I was.

Going back to the film, I definitely recommend seeing it in 3D if you can, as it really played the film to its best. The songs luckily lived up to my expectations as did the film in general. To be honest, I was a little disappointed by Emma Watson (only a very little bit!) as I didn’t feel she brought much to the film that any other actress could’ve brought, other than the publicity which I’m not sure it needed extra of, it is a remake of one of Disney’s most loved films after all.

However, I didn’t realise quite how many other ‘big’ actors and actresses were in the film. Emma Thompson, Ian McKellen, Ewan McGregor. How didn’t I know this!! So yes, I recommend you go and watch this but don’t expect magical acting from Emma Watson just because she was Hermione!

Beauty: MAC lipsticks. (Kinda Sexy, Brave and Velvet Teddy)


I have finally branched out and bought some MAC lipsticks! Admittedly second hand but I’m still very happy with them. I’ve bought ‘Kinda Sexy’ ‘Velvet Teddy’ and ‘Brave’.

This is also my first taste of Matte Lipsticks and I can’t make up my mind on what I think, I’m not sure I quite understand the hype of both matte lipsticks and MAC… I definitely love the smell of them but is the formula so much greater than any high-street brand I’ve tried? I’m not sure… If anyone would be interested in a first impressions/review type post, let me know as I’d definitely be up for that. I’ve been loving Brave in particular in the last few days as its a very ‘spring’ shade in my opinion!

Clothing- Lilac polo neck top from H&M.

I got this back in January as a possibility for a party but decided it wasn’t right for the event however liked it enough to keep it and have worn it a few times in the last few weeks. It’s just about getting to the right time of year to wear it as while it is a polo neck, it’s very thin (and quite see-through which I like but don’t think my family does!).

It’s a lovely colour and I hope to wear it lots in the next month! I am a big fan of polo necks just because I think it masks my lack of boobs (It probably doesn’t!) but I like that this isn’t as heavy as some of my other polo necks and therefore doesn’t make me look like too much of an egg!

Food: Jordan’s Fusilli Bars.

As the 1st March was also the first day of Lent, I’ve spent the whole of March without chocolate/sweets/cakes/biscuits which hasn’t really bothered me other than the lack of options it’s left me with for snacking and deserts. It has meant I’ve been eating about a packet (with 6 bars in!!) of these, a day. My favourites are the apple one and the blueberry ones and I could eat so many! I’ve also been eating NutriGrain bars but as they’re slightly more expensive, it’s more frowned on to eat a packet of them a day! Plus Nutrigrain bars are a bit more processed and less of the healthy fruitiness and I’m all about the healthiness of food (not)!

Blog: Daisies and Delights.


A new discovery for me and I’m so glad I found her blog. Not only is her blog ultimate blog goals but Daisy herself is so lovely. We’ve had some great conversations on Twitter and have plans to meet up in the summer. Let’s hope we manage it. I have read every single one of Daisy’s posts and have loved seeing her blogging progression through her posts! Definitely go and check her out HERE.

Blog Post: ‘My UK ‘to visit’ list – I don’t really know why I like this post so much but I feel the ide was quite unusual (sorry if it isn’t!) and I’m just really happy with how it turned out. It terms of other people’s posts, I loved ‘Why it’s important to take a break’ on ‘It’s Everything Erin’s Blog. I feel it was something I really needed to read as I often just don’t have the time to write a blog post and it gets me down but my life is so busy at the moment and it’s OK if I can’t do it.  I just felt it arrived at a perfect time for me. Thank you Erin!!


Other: Bloglovin

In the last few weeks, I’ve been loving Bloglovin. I’ve always had it downloaded I’ve just never really used it but now 90% of my reading happens here. I only follow blogs I know that I’ll enjoy the posts of and I love the fact that every time I refresh the app, there’s a new post or two for me to read. I also just hit 100 followers over there which has been a goal for a while. I know quite a few people don’t like Bloglovin but in my opinion, it’s great and one of my ‘must-have’ apps! I know there’s been so much controversy about it’s recent updates but to be honest, I don’t really understand what’s wrong… If someone explained it to me well, I’d be open to change my opinion!

I hope that you have all had a good March. I have basically the whole of April off from school and so have quite a bit planned amongst my revision and I can’t wait until Easter when I can eat Chocolate again (Ok, maybe I’m not dealing with it quite as well as it appeared above!!)

(If you’ve enjoyed this, please follow or share as I have some killer blog post coming out in the next few weeks!)

xxx

TWITTER | INSTAGRAM | BLOGLOVIN

6 thoughts on “March Favourites

Leave a Reply

