Favourites

2016 Favourites!

What a cracking year 2016 has been. Well maybe not for the world or anyone famous with the worry that the Grim Reaper could be just around the corner, but for me. If you read my two ‘Year in review’ posts (PART 1 and PART 2) you’ll see what I mean. When I was thinking back on 2016, I suddenly came up with my favourite things from this year and decided to turn it into a post. Lets go!


Book-Without a doubt, my favourite book from this year has been ‘Paper Butterflies’ by Lisa Heathfield. I’ve been writing a review on it ever since I read it but I just can’t get the greatness into words. To begin with, Paper Butterflies was just a book I bought in a rush at YALC, not really thinking about it but desperate to get a signed book. I flicked thorough the first few pages, found it a bit weird so put it on my bookshelf and forgot about it. However when I picked it back up again, I’m not lying when I say this book effected me. I think it’s the first book that’s really moved me. I mean, many books make me cry but I mostly think ‘that’s a nice story I wish I could write like that!’. This book was so much more. I don’t really know how to explain it. I found myself thinking about randomly weeks after I read it, without even having seen it for days. It explained racism to me in a way no other book has been able to and just generally touched me. I think I’ve raved on to everybody about it, my mum, my dad, and now you! I’ll do a full review next year if I can find the words I want to describe this masterpiece but for now it is the rightful winner of this award.


Song- This is a more difficult winner. For favourite 2016 song, it’s definitely ‘Shout out to my Ex’ by Little Mix. I don’t know, it just makes me feel so empowered and badass! I haven’t really listened to it a huge amount because to be honest, I’m not Little Mix’s biggest fan but when I was debating the winner, it popped into my head! As for my favourite non-2016 song, It has to be ‘Fix you’ by Coldplay or ‘A Thousand Years’ by Christina Perri (the twilight theme tune… ?). Both of them are sad and are my ‘go to’ sangs if I’m feeling down and want to channel my inner sadness. I feel ‘Fix You’ sums me up in so many ways. ‘When you try your best but you don’t succeed’. As for my favourite singer, that would be Grace Vanderwaal, the 12 year old winner of ‘America’s got Talent’. I love both her songs and her singing voice. I can’t wait to see what 2017 brings for her but boy, I wish I could sing!

Makeup- As I probably mentioned Once or seven times on here, I’m not a very makeup-y person. That will all change now due to one of my Christmas presents (more on that another time) but basically, there wasn’t a lot of competition for this position. However, my winner is my ‘Collection Waterproof mascara’. I’m not sure that I’ll rebuy it as I’m sure there are a lot better ones out there but it adds INSANE length which is what I mainly look for in a mascara. It does have it’s downsides but it’s still my favourite and most used product!

TV- This year has seen so many good TV shows take to the screens although the majority were in this last run down to Christmas. We’ve had ‘Strictly’ and ‘Great British Bake-off’ as well as ‘Victoria’ (which I haven’t yet watched but it’s on my To Be Watched list). However the winner for me is ‘Michael Mcintyre’s Big Show. It’s just so hilarious and I love the pranks he pulls on everybody and me and my mum sit on the sofa on Saturday nights with tears of laughter streaming down our faces! (I knew choosing the mascara above in the waterproof edition would come in handy, it’s so I can watch Michael Mcintre without canals of black pouring down my face!)


Blog- And now time for the biggest award of the night (or day…) so far. The Winner of my ‘Favourite Blog of the Year award 2016. This is a tough contest but at the same time an easy choice. There are so many great blogs and people that I’ve been lucky enough to get to know this year and I could happily proclaim that anyone of these is the winner and that would be rightfully so but for me, the winner is so clear. I go on and on about how much I love this blog (literally, the comment section is just me drooling over how amazing every post is!) and I aspire to be even a segment of how great she is. I see this blog going so far and it will clearly become a much followed blog and therefore my winner of the ‘2016 Top Blog award’ goes to ‘Life as Tilly Rose’!! (Can we all just appreciate the beauty of the blog and the beauty of Tilly herself!)

Blog post of Mine- This year so far, not including this post and any that will follow this, I have written 47 blog posts. However out of those my favourite has to be ’15 things I noticed in America’. It is my most commented on post and I like to think that that is for a reason but it might just be that people were feeling in the commenting mood that day! It wasn’t I post I’d planned to write but it just came to me and I’m really happy with how it turned out! It perfectly sums up one of the most amazing things that happened to me in 2016.


Clothing- I’m going to choose quite a random item for the winner of this prize. The hoodie I’ve chosen isn’t something people would necessarily call ‘fashionable’ and it’s probably not something I should leave the house wearing (and yet I do, what does that say about me?!). It’s a hoodie from my trip on the London eye when I was in (surprise, surprise) London in July. It’s very comfy and not black which makes a change from all my other hoodies. I think it’s technically the men’s hoodie but I preferred it so much more than the sickly purple ‘women’s’ one. And it’s massive. When we were choosing sizes, my mum told me ‘Go for a bigger size and then you can pretend your borrowing your boyfriend’s hoodie even though it’s obvious you don’t have one’. Thanks for that Mum.

Youtuber- This is probably the last award for today and it’s not one I would have awarded a year ago. I didn’t really discover Youtubers that I enjoyed until August (GCSE results day to be precise!) but since then I’ve watched them a lot. I didn’t really think about the fact that there are UK Youtubers my age I might find interesting but now I’ve found them, there’s no going back! So my faves for this year go to: Eve Bennet and Molly at Beauty Spectrum.

I hope you enjoyed this. I really enjoyed writing this! Let me know your 2016 faves down below.

xxx

9 thoughts on “2016 Favourites!

Leave a Reply

